When the Journey is Complete, Get Out of the Vehicle

There are times in life when we get swept up in a crisis that we just can’t deny, avoid, or sweep under the rug. What we must remember is that these crises are not an endless one-way ticket to tragedy, but vehicles for transformation and gathering power. We are not meant to ride along forever, only for a time.

For example, suddenly last January I found myself taking a new journey in a vehicle called cancer. In Western mainstream thinking, we all too often become the vehicle, become identified with cancer for the rest of our lives. But really cancer—or divorce or losing a job, or watching our house get blown away in a hurricane and having to rebuild—are just vehicles, ways of getting to a new place that we normally couldn’t get to. And there is no right or wrong in the destination. Our job is only to be as conscious as possible of what we are learning on this journey, to travel mindfully, to listen to the voice of the soul that has been shouting at us for years.

And then when our journey has come to an end, when health is restored or the personal crisis resolves, then we must get out of the vehicle, look around at our new surroundings, and ask, “What is my new life about?” We, hopefully, choose to live whatever life we now have with passion, to stop being good little soldiers who do only what society tells us. How wonderful if we can now follow our hearts, dig down into the juicy, rich, creative loam of existence and flourish.

Any transformation must be followed by integration, and I believe the best place to start is in living life consciously and joyously, taking risks, doing what you’ve always wanted to do without fear. Truly, if you set out to build a new life, the floodgates will open and undreamt of opportunities will come.

Now that I, as a reborn person, have stepped out of this vehicle that has taken me so far, I want to embrace living extravagantly, outrageously, creatively, courageously.

About Joy Parker

As a three-time cancer survivor and storyteller, I felt compelled to create this blog because I felt the need to connect with an audience and immediately share what I am learning as I am learning it. The material in this blog is serving as the basis for two books that I am writing. The first book talks about how illness is a vehicle that takes us into the unknown land, teaches us things we couldn’t otherwise learn, and then gives us the opportunity to bring them back to our community. It offers a compass and creates a map of the unknown land so that others might find their path more easily. Most important, it shares what I have learned about waking up and being truly alive in this magnificent world. That might sound simple enough, but the actual experience is devastatingly beautiful and powerful. The second project is a book with medicine cards discussing many of the lessons I’ve learned from my experiences with healing and as a healer, the indigenous world, and walking a spiritual path. Most important, it is the story of the development of my own personal mythology. People tend to think of myths as massive stories and beliefs that develop in a culture over hundreds or thousands of years. We now live in a time of crisis and we don’t have a hundred years. The time for healing and transformation is now, and we are the ones we have been waiting for.
This entry was posted in Healing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the Journey is Complete, Get Out of the Vehicle

  1. Tayria Ward says:

    Even just the title of this, sitting in my inbox, hit me between the house. Someone is coming over to my house today to discuss possibly buying it – this popped up out of the blue. I have no idea how this will turn out but when I saw those words it seemed the oracle is telling me something. Hmmmm. This is such great wisdom, thank you Joy.

Leave a Reply

